What is their best piece of music? I’m going to list some composers. I’d like you to tell me in your opinion what you think is their absolute best, MUST have composition, the more complex the counterpoint it has & the richer the harmony, the better. Still, I just want to know opinions.Beethoven = 9th Symphony, Mozart = Requiem, etc.=========ProkofievSchumannArnold Schoenberg Alban BergAnton Bruckner.Benjamin BrittenHugo WolfMonteverdiScarlatti MilhaudErnest BlochJacob DruckmanJanácekKodályElliot CarterPer NørgårdHovhanessPietro Antonio LocatelliPoulencPuccini|Schubert

Download and print Hugo Wolf (Italian Songbook) sheet score

I’m not usually one to single out just ONE work by any composer, but I’ll give it a shot. My recommendations aren’t necessarily the most POPULAR work by each composer, but are what I consider pieces that show the composer at his very best and are accessible to the listener.Prokofiev – Romeo and Juliet (ballet)Schumann – Symphony No 3Arnold Schoenberg – Serenade, Op 24Alban Berg – Wozzeck (opera)Anton Bruckner – Symphony No 9Benjamin Britten – Peter Grimes (opera)Hugo Wolf – Italian SongbookMonteverdi – L’incoronazione di Poppea (opera)Scarlatti – (assuming Domenico) 555 keyboard sonatasMilhaud – Le création du mondeErnest Bloch – Baal ShemJacob Druckman – ChiaroscuroJanácek – The Cunning Little Vixen (opera)Kodály – Peacock VariationsElliot Carter – Concerto for OrchestraPer Nørgård – Symphony No 3Hovhaness – pass (he didn’t write anything good)Pietro Antonio Locatelli – L’arte del violinoPoulenc – Organ ConcertoPuccini – Tosca (opera)Schubert – Winterreise (song cycle)

I agree with Del, not only in his aversion to selecting a single work, but also with nearly all of his choices. These are the ones where I differ from him!Schumann – Dichterliebe Op 48Schoenberg – GurreliederBerg – Violin ConcertoBruckner – Symphony No 7

Prokofiev: Whenever someone writes in asking “What has a nice epic mood besides Carmina Burana?” I answer with Alexander Nevsky. Schumann: I practiced for Form and Analysis by analyzing Schumann’s Album for the Young on my own. It has rondos, ternary’s, and goodness knows what else.Alban Berg: Wozzeck is just about the only atonal composition I like. Benjamin Britten: Ceremony of Carols has a lovely ethereal flavor.Monteverdi: I like Orfeo better than Coronation of Poppei because it is more melodious.Scarlatti: My favorite sonata of his is in g minor and starts with two dotted quarter note D’s. Sorry I can’t give you the Kirkpatrick number.Ernest Bloch: The concerto gross in d minor for piano and strings, because that’s the only composition of his I’ve played.Janácek: Sinfonietta. Janacek amazes me with his ability to compose without standard blueprints, such as sonata, rondo, and ternary.Kodály: Kodaly and Tcherepnin are the only two composers I know who can write pentatonic keyboard music without resorting to the usual pseudo-exotic cliches.Hovhaness: October Mountain for percussion ensemble is a nice hypnotic piece.Poulenc: The opening theme in his piano concerto is quite lovely.Puccini: It’s a twelve-way tie for me. I love them all.Schubert: The Ninth Symphony is quite engrossing for me. People criticize the composition because it’s too long, but if you make cuts, that would ruin its engrossing power.