I could have danced all night – My Fair Lady – Lerner/Loewe – Felicity Buckland & Ezra Williams

Mezzo-soprano Felicity Buckland sings My Fair Lady, with Ezra Williams on piano.

Download sheet music online: Lerner: I Could Have Danced All Night (from My Fair Lady)

I Could Have Danced All Night from My Fair Lady by Lerner and Loewe

I Could Have Danced All Night from My Fair Lady by Lerner and Loewe.

what are good production ideas for a school variety or theater show? m the head of our theater group and we would like to put up a show..

Download sheet music online: Lerner: I Could Have Danced All Night (from My Fair Lady)

Oh where to begin.How about: “An Evening With [insert one of the names below]”Kander & Ebb (they created Broadway hits such as Caberet, Chicago, Woman of the Year, Kiss of the Spider Woman, Curtains, etc.)Lerner & Loewe (the team that created Brigadoon, Paint Your Wagons, My Fair Lady, Camelot, & Gigi)Gershwin & Gershwin (to name a few films: An American in Paris, Funny Face, Girl Crazy, Shall We Dance, A Star is Born. For Broadway: Crazy for You, Funny Face, Lady Be Good!, My One & Only, Of Thee I Sing, Porgy & Bess, Strike Up the Band)Sir Andrew Lloyd Webber (Evita, Cats, Phantom of the Opera, Jesus Christ Superstar, Starlight Express, Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat, Sunset Boulevard, etc.)Rogers & Hammerstein (State Fair, Oklahoma!, South Pacific, State Fair, Carousel, Cinderella, The Sound of Music, Flower Drum Song, etc.)Stephen Sondheim (West Side Story, Gypsy, A Funny Thing Happened On The Way To The Forum, Company, Follies, A Little Night Music, Pacific Overtures, Sweeney Todd, Merrily We Roll Along, Sunday In The Park With George, Into The Woods, Assassins, etc.)Stephen Schwartz (On Broadway: Pippen, Godspell, Wicked; For Disney w/ composer Alan Menken Pocahontas, The Hunchback of Notre Dame, Enchanted, also Disney’s Mulan; For DreamWorks: The Prince of Egypt)I could go on, but doing a show based on the works of a composer or collaborative team is very easy to put together and you could even have someone dress up as the composer(s) to include biographical information about each show and how & when they came up with it. I’ve just listed a few of the more popular choices, there are OODLES more out there. Good Luck!!

10 points will be awarded to a detailed answer. comparison of pygmalion and my fair lady? for english i have to write a paper on which film better relates to the original pygmalion play my fair lady(1964) or Pygmalion(1939. provide evidence on which film parallels the play closer on the following elements.plot, characters, setting, and costume. either give evidence directly or a website regarding to the comparison
Writing takes time. It takes a certain time of brain space, too. I have been really busy with work. I wish that work would back off a little.I would rather be reading and thinking and writing than doing all this JOB stuff.But the job stuff pays the bills.I had a chance to listen to PYGMALION by Shaw. That was a great play! All kinds of good stuff, about class tension and social climbing and the place of women and the importance of manners in society.On the back of the package, it says “PYGMALION inspired the award-winning film and stage productions of Lerner and Loewe’s musical, MY FAIR LADY.”I went and got MY FAIR LADY so that I could compare the two. I like musicals.But you know, this was pretty different than the play. THe musical added songs which are very nice. But the story itself is such a practical story.I mean, it is about getting this work done–HIggins has to teach Eliza how to speak.In PYGMALION, Eliza learned very fast and had a quick ear.In MY FAIR LADY, Eliza couldn’t hear the sounds at all until Professor Higgins essentially tortured her inot saying it right. I thought that change to be rather implausible, he didn’t even TRY to explain how sounds are formed. Then, after he’s starved her and been cranky to her all day, she gets it and they dance around sining “The Rain in Spain.” Then, he demands that she stay up and study some more.And she goes all googly and sings “I could have danced all night.”WHAT?! the implication is that she is in love with professor higgins.I fail to see the attraction. He hasn’t done anything nice for her, and he’s done a lot of mean things.It doens’t make sense to me.In PYGMALION, Shaw treats marriage as a much more practical exercise. In fact, on of the lines that are in common show his point of view, “In tottenham court, I was above this. I sold flowers, not myself.”That line seems incongruous in the musical. THe musical has all kinds of massively sappy moments of LOOOOOVVVEEE! Freddie is head over heels, and Eliza is exstatic over Higgins, and Higgins has grown accustomed to her face.It doesn’t hang together quite as well.I think the play was much more complimentary to Eliza, giving her talents that are to her credit. But the musical makes her a patsy, whose only major selling point is how pretty she is.It’s too bad.

Songs to sing at a retirement home? For volunteer work I am singing at a retirement home.I’ve been broadway songs since i was little.what songs will you suggest to sing?
Because you entertaining some old folk (lol) I suggest something that generation would be familiar with: Cole Porter, Gershwin, Rodgers and Hammerstein/Hart, Irving Berlin and Lerner and Lowe, etc. You didn’t specify your vocal range, but these songs are familiar crowd pleasers:up-tempo:Always True to You in My Fashion – Kiss Me, KateAnything Goes – Anything GoesGetting to Know You – The King and IHoney Bun – South PacificI Could Have Danced All Night – My Fair LadyI Enjoy Being a Girl – Flower Drum SongI Feel Pretty – West Side StoryJune is Bustin’ Out All Over – Carousel (love this song!)Lonely Goatherd – The Sound of Music (works best if you can yodel)Many a New Day – Oklahoma!Pick-a-Little, Talk-a-Little – The Music ManShall We Dance? – The King and ISing for Your Supper – Boys from Syracuse (this one is fun!)Stepsister’s Lament – CinderellaWonderful Guy – South PacificWouldn’t It Be Loverly – My Fair Lady (works best if you can sing in Cockney)ballads:Climb Every Mountain – The Sound of MusicDo I Love You? – CinderellaI Got Lost in His Arms – Annie Get Your GunI Have Dreamed – The King and ILittle Lamb – GypsyOne Hand, One Heart – West Side StorySome Enchanted Evening – South PacificSomething Wonderful – The King and ITill There Was You – The Music ManTonight – West Side StoryWe Kiss in a Shadow – The King and IYou’ll Never Walk Alone – Carousel

I’m 70 and not in a home, but I like these songsALL AT ONCE. Whitney HoustonALL CRIED OUT. Lisa, Lisa and Club JamALMOST OVER YOU.. Sheena EastonALMOST PARADISE.. Reno/ WilsonALWAYS. Atlantic StarrALWAYS AND FOREVER. HeatwaveANOTHER SAD LOVE SONG. Toni BraxtonARTHUR’S THEME. Christopher CrossBABY I LOVE YOUR WAY.. Peter FramptonBE HERE TO LOVE ME. Norah JonesBECAUSE OF YOU. 98 DegreesBREAK UP TO MAKE UP. StylisticsBY THE TIME I GET TO PHOENIX.. Jimmy WebbBY THE TIME THIS NIGHT IS OVER.. Kenny & Barbo BrysonCAN YOU FEEL THE LOVE TONIGHT.. Elton JohnCAN’T FIGHT THIS FEELING.. R.E.O. SpeedwagonCAN’T HELP FALLING IN LOVE W/YOU .. Elvis PresleyCAN’T STOP LOVING YOU.. Phil CollinsCHERISH. Kool and the GangCLOSE TO YOU.. Hal David / Burt BachrachCOLOUR MY WORLD.. ChicagoDO I HAVE TO SAY THE WORDS.. Bryan AdamsDO YOU WANNA MAKE LOVE. Peter McCannDON’T KNOW MUCH. Ronstade/NevilleDREAM. Priscilla AnnDREAMING OF YOU.. SelenaEVEN NOW. Barry ManilowEVERY TIME TIME YOU GO AWAY.. Paul YoungFOREVER. Mariah CarreFROM A DISTANCE.. Bette MidlerHANDS TO HEAVEN. BreatheHAVE YOU SEEN HER. The Chi-LitesHEART OF MINE. Boz ScaggsHELLO AGAIN. Neil DiamondHERE AND NOW. Luther VandrossHOLD ON TO THE NIGHTS. Richard MarxDOW DEEP IS YOUR LOVE.. The Bee GeesHOW DO I LIVE. Leann RimesHOW MUCH I FEEL. AmbrosiaI FINALLY FOUND SOMEONE.. Babara StreisandI HONESTLY LOVE YOU.. Peter Allen / Jeff BarryI JUST CAN’T STOP LOVING YOU. Michael JacksonI KNOW I LOVED YOU. Savage GardenI LIKE DREAMIN’ Kenny NolanI LOVE YOU. Climax Blues BandI MISS YOU. KlymaxxI SAY A LITTLE PRAYER. Dionne WarwickI’LL ALWAYS LOVE YOU.. Taylor.. DayneI’LL BE OVER YOU. TotoI’LL HAVE TO SAY I LOVE YOU IN A SONG Jim CroceI’LL MAKE LOVE TO YOU.. Boyz 2 MenI’M SORRY. John DenverI’M YOUR ANGEL.. Celine Dion / R. KellyIT’S NOT FOR ME TO SAY. Johnny MathisIT DON’T MATTER TO ME. BreadIF YOU’RE NOT THE ONE.. Daniel BeringfieldIMAGINE.. John LennonIT ONLY HURTS WHEN I’M BREATHING Shania TwainIT WAS ALMOST LIKE A SONG.. Ronnie MilsapJUST LIKE A WOMAN. Bob DylanKATHY’S SONG. Simon and GarfunkleLAST NIGHT I DIDN’T GET TO SLEEP.. 5th DimensionLEAD ME ON . Maxine NightingaleLET’S WAIT A WHILE. Janet JacksonLOVING YOU. Jerry Leiber / Mike StollerLOVE ME TENDER. Elvis PresleyLOVE WILL CONQUER ALL.. Lionel RitcheyLOVE ZONE. Billy OceanMAKING LOVE OUT OF NOTHING AT ALL.. Air SupplyMIDNIGHT BLUE. Melissa ManchesterMOON RIVER. Andy WilliamsMY ALL. Mariah CareyMY EYES ADORED YOU.. Frankie ValliNEVER MY LOVE. The AssociationNEVER THOUGHT (that I could love you. Dan HillNO ORDINARY LOVE. SadeOoo BABY BABY. Linda RonstadtPLEASE COME TO BOSTON. Dave LogginsPRECIOUS AND FEW. ClimaxSEXUAL HEALING. Marvin GayeSHARE YOUR LOVE WITH ME.. Kenny RogersSHINING STAR. ManhattansSOMETIMES WHEN WE TOUCH. Dan HillSORRY SEEMS TO BE THE HARDEST WORD.. Elton JohnSTAY AWHILE.. The BellsSWAY. Michael BubleSWAYING TO THE MUSIC. Johnny RiversTHANK YOU. Led ZepplinTHAT’S WHAT LOVE IS ALL ABOUT.. Michael BoltonTELL HIM. Barbara Streisand / Celine DionTHE LADY IN RED. Chris DeBurghTHE ONE THAT YOU LOVE.. Air SupplyTHE POWER OF LOVE. Celine DionTHE WAY OF LOVE. CherTHESE FOOLISH THINGS.. Rod StewartTHIS ONES FOR YOU. Barry ManilowTO ALL THE GIRLS I’VE LOVED BEFORE.. Willie NelsonTOO HOT. Kool and the GangTOO MUCH HEAVEN. Bee GeesTORN BETWEEN TWO LOVERS.. Mary MacGregorTRULY. Lionel RichieTRULY, MADLY, DEEPLY.. Savage GardenTRYING TO GET THE FEELING AGAIN. Barry ManilowWALK ON BY. Dionne WarwickWHAT KIND OF FOOL.. Barbara Streisand/Barry gibbWE’VE ONLY JUST BEGUN. The CarpentersWHERE MY HEART WILLTAKE ME Russelll WatsonWICKED GAME. Chris IsaakWISHING ON A STAR. Rose RoyceWON’T GO HOME WITHOUT YOU. Maroon 5WORLD WITHOUT LOVE.. Jonah SmithYOU BELONG TO ME.. Carly SimonYOU GOT IT ALL. The JetsYOU LIGHT UP MY LIFE. Debby BooneYOU NEEDED ME. Anne MurrayYOU RAISE ME UP.. Josh Groban