I Vow to Thee, My Country

I vow to thee, my country, all earthly things above, Entire and whole and perfect, the service of my love; The love that asks no question, the love that stan…

This title is available as instant sheet music download: I Vow to Thee My Country by Holst

Gustav Holst – I Vow To Thee My Country

get thils mp3 for free at musicpork.com Gustav Holst – I Vow To Thee My Country Gustav Holst – I Vow To Thee My Country Gustav Holst – I Vow To Thee M…

What should the British and/or English national anthem be changed to? God Save The Queen is a terrible national anthem, means very little to people today and is not rousing. I suggest it be changed to either ‘Jerusalem’, ‘Land of Hope and Glory’, or ‘I Vow to Thee, My Country’. These are pieces of music we can be proud of (composed by two of the greatest British/English composers: Elgar and Holst). Which one for which?

This title is available as instant sheet music download: I Vow to Thee My Country by Holst

It SHOULD be God Save The “King” soon. – Poor Charles will probably never get to feel the crown on his head. Anyway, I think “shout” by Dizzee Rascal and James Cordon should be are national anthem. Then when we can sing it ever louder at a Football match. “Come on England we need to sort it out,”
change it to God Save Kate Middelton 😀
The British National anthem should not be changed from God save the Queen. Many people in the United Kingdom are loyal to the Queen and singing the anthem is something many Britons are proud to do. Not all of course, but many are proud England on the other hand, doesn’t have it’s own national anthem and never has had it’s own. We should use either Land of Hope and Glory or Jerusalem

I think too many people think England and Britian are the same thing, so in order to stop them thinking that. we should change the English athem

Are there old recordings of I vow to thee, my country with the middle verse sung? I want to hear it sung. I think it’s a tribute to those lost in the great war and perhaps the decision to omit was what jack straw might call the work of wooly minded liberals.
When Holst set Cecil Spring – Rice’s poem to music, he only arranged it for the opening verse or one run through of the melody in “Jupiter.” However, there are choral versions that have the first and last verse, the middle verse is considered not suitable for modern use. Most versions of Holst’s “Jupiter” have the melody played instrumentally without the choral part. The tune when used with the hymn is referred to as “Thaxted.”There is a wikipedia article on “I vow to thee, my country.”I have not found one with the middle verse used.

What is the folksong that Holst included in his Jupiter: Bringer of Jollity (the slow part)? I heard that he didn’t originally compose the slow part and that it was a folksong before. What is it called?
The British Hymn, I Vow to Thee My Country is the most clearly quoted fragment in there. There are many snippets that seem to come from what I would call British folksongs of the countryside. But the hymn named above is very clearly present throught the piece.

Holst composed ALL of Jupiter. The slow middle section was later used for the hymn/anthem ‘I Vow to Thee, my Country’, rather than the other way around. This tune is not a folksong but pure, original Holst.

The Tune name for “I Vow to Thee, My Country” is Thaxted.en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Thaxted_(tune)

What music is being played here by the Grenadier Guards Band? Hi what’s the music being played from 44:14 by the Band of the grenadier Guards?youtube.com/watch?v=OoKi_ZTxJNAThanks!
Part of Holst’s Planets Suite which has been given the lyrics “I vow to thee my Country”.It’s part of Jupiter.

What is the name of the song and band for the song that was used in ‘Reaching for Glory/france match? Piano song for the ireland v france rugby match on the dvd reaching for glory;inside irish rugby 2007?
Sorry mate. Didn’t catch the match. You can try to have a look at the match over on the IRB web site. Hopefully they’d have the national anthems.

Gustav Holst, he compsosed “the planets” the clip is from one of the songs, i think it was Jupter, or “I vow to thee my country” . Its a few minutes into the piece.it doesnt jump out at you you have to look for it

what would be a good hymn for me to sing in an audition for a church choir? i have a soprano / alto voice, and i need a hymn or something similar i can sing on my own for an audition for a church choir? Thanks guys 🙂
Amazing Grace is a beautiful song. Try that. it’s the one that gets most people their parts in singing. 🙂

How about ‘I vow to thee my country’, tune by Gustav Holst.It would suit your voice and it’s a lovely slow tune with a good range.Good luck.