Christianity Confusion? I believe that Jesus died for my sins in the way that people do when something has been drilled into them. I grew up in a very conservative religion and went to church school and church till 6th grade, and then my first two years of high school. My mother was of that religion and so were my siblings. My mother doesn’t follow anything that was preached but feels she knows God best. My other siblings are atheists, and I am left confused.I refuse to go to my old church because, frankly, I feel most churches are politically driven and don’t practice what they’re saying. Also, I believe Saturday is the day to worship, so that knocks out everything on Sunday.The Bible doesn’t make me feel any love for God. Sitting in church doesn’t make me feel anything. But helping others does. I am very confused because everyone is telling me something different. Some people say what I believe is wrong even though it comes from the Bible. They think that because I try to love everyone that I approve of what they do and are therefore just as bad.How do I get out of this funk when reading the Bible doesn’t help and Christians, for the most part, aren’t helping. Is this just going to be something I have to figure out on my own?Because I believe in God. I believe Jesus was a real person, but I don’t know how to really FEEL that love with either of them (you know how people say they can feel it, and they always seem so happy). I hope somebody has good advice, you know, from people who actually care about what I’m trying to find.JeanMarie:Yes, I was raised Seventh Day Adventist actually. And I still follow all the dietary rules in stuff because it seems to me like that’s important and there are the verses in the NT that my Bible teacher said were misinterpreted when I asked him about them. They always said that your diet would get the majority of people into trouble and that worshiping on Sundays was accepting the mark of the beast, and Since I grew up in that church my entire life, it’s hard to forget about things like that. I still half believe them so I’m afraid to change.

See and download Funk (How Firm A Foundation) sheet music

First, do you know God loves you?Seriously, do you KNOW how much He loves you?He created you just like you are; down to the last freckle, and He thinks you are wonderful! He is proud of what He made and He wants you to know that.God doesn’t need you to please Him, He wants you to know Him. Find a church where they talk about God as if He was actually interested in you. Trust me, those kind of churches exist, and they are not found in only one denomination.When was the last time you talked to God?Maybe it’s time to start looking for Him yourself.

You poor dear.First take a deep breath. Remember when Jesus said let those without sin cast the first stone to that women caught in adultery? Look who Jesus hung out with-a fisherman who said he wasn’t worthy and was sinful, a former tax collector who stole from people-some viewed him as scum and one women with questionable moral standards.We can love and show compassion to people since our sin is not better.You have been indoctrinated in religion and not with Jesus personally. He will draw you and you will find him-he knows you are searching.I left the church I grew up in and now belong to what’s called “christian” church from the restoration movement. We practice what we preach. Now you have been taught to only worship in Saturdays this isn’t new test teachings. I bet you belong to 7th day advan. Read what the new test says about this:Let no man judge you in respecting the sabbath!Col. 2:13-16: [God] kindly forgave us all our trespasses and blotted out the handwritten document against us, which consisted of decrees and which was in opposition to us . . . Therefore let no man judge you in eating and drinking or in respect of a festival or of an observance of the new moon or of a sabbath. (If a person was under the Mosaic Law and was judged guilty of profaning the Sabbath, he was to be stoned to death by the whole congregation, according to Exodus 31:14 and Numbers 15:32-35. Many who argue for sabbath keeping have reason to be glad that we are not under that Law. As shown in the scripture here quoted, an approved standing with God no longer requires observance of the sabbath requirement given to Israel.) The disciples worshipped on sunday.Acts 20:7 On the first day of the week we came together to break bread. Paul spoke to the people and, because he intended to leave the next day, kept on talking until midnight. 1 Corinthians 16:2 On the first day of every week, each one of you should set aside a sum of money in keeping with his income, saving it up, so that when I come no collections will have to be made. †

Good for you, actually seeking out the truth. You should be commended for your effort.I have a different background myself. Grew up agnostic, recently became Christian.From what you’ve described, you sound like a very good Christian person, caring for others and all. Personally, I don’t think you have to go to church every week to be a “good Christian”. My husband and I are looking to find a church, since I would like to go, so that I can learn more about it. I find for me, I have to keep renewing info in my mind, I have to keep it fresh, or my mind dumps it (you know, like a class in school that you never use again – I took thermodynamics in college, but I don’t really remember any of it now). I think going to church on a regular basis will help me to be a better person. But that’s what works for me. It doesn’t work for everyone.I also don’t “feel” the love others talk about. I think it’s because there’s so much I don’t know about Christianity, that I’m still really confused about a lot of things. I have just accepted the idea that Jesus died for our sins to save us, and I try to live a good life as best as I can. Perhaps you don’t “feel” it because you also have questions about Christianity.Maybe you should find a new church, one that fits you better. I admit, I’m not sure exactly how to do that, but you probably have a better idea than me.I think you should remember that Jesus wanted us to live good lives, and I think you understand that by you saying you want to help others. Perhaps you could join a volunteer group, and by helping others every day, you will feel a renewed love of Jesus.Sorry if this isn’t helpful, I did my best. Good luck with everything!

It seems to me that you feel inadequate in comparison to all those ecstatic or seemingly perfect people around you, or like CJ above here, who make it all seem so simple. It isn’t. They are either liars or self-deluding, and either way it’s dangerous and confusing to REAL people such as yourself. I think you are on the right track. Of course helping others gives you a good feeling, and pretending in church doesn’t. That shows you’re a real person, in touch. Don’t change, you’re fine the way you are.

You have some good answers there, sister, such as JeanMarie’s answer. I believe Christianity is a personal relationship between you and Jesus, so it is not a religion based on do’s and dont’s. It is based on believing, and right believing will produce right living, according to God’s words. How you live your Christian life would be based on your personal relationship with our Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ, not based on how other Christians live their lives. Just as Jesus said to Peter, “You follow Me”, we need not worry or be unduly concerned about other Christians – “For if we live, we live to the Lord; and if we die, we die to the Lord. Therefore, whether we live or die, we are the Lord’s.” (Romans 14:8) :)I would recommend that you find a grace-based Bible-believing church that preaches the gospel of grace. The kind of fellowship is secondary, as important as fellowship is, because ultimately what will make the deepest impact in your life is whether the teachings preached in the church unveil Christ – His Person, His beauty and glory, and the perfection of His finished work at the cross. The gospel of grace has been transforming people’s lives from the inside out, and is still transforming lives today. Whenever the apostle Paul preached the gospel, those who heard the message and believed were saved, and their lives were blessed. Paul preached the forgiveness of sins and justification by faith in Jesus, and “on the next Sabbath almost the whole city came together to hear the word of God. Now when the Gentiles heard this, they were glad and glorified the word of the Lord.” (Acts 13:38-48)The gospel of grace glorifies Jesus and His finished work, whereas religion glorifies man and his good works. Man hates the gospel of grace because it makes everything of Jesus and nothing of man. Paul said he was not ashamed of the gospel, for it is the power of God to salvation for those who believe, because the gospel reveals the righteousness of God that is given as a gift to sinful man through faith in Christ. (Romans 1:16-17) The gospel means “good news”, in fact it means “too good to be true” in the original Greek language. “Grace” means unearned, undeserved, unmerited favour of God. The good news then is that we are saved by grace through faith, not by works, lest anyone should boast. (Ephesians 2:8) We don’t deserve to be saved because we were sinners, but God’s grace is for the undeserving. Therefore, we simply come to God just the way we are and receive His gift of salvation through faith in Jesus Christ, as the scripture says, “But to him who does not work but believes on Him who justifies (or makes righteous) the ungodly, his faith is counted for righteousness.” (Romans 4:5) And again, “that if you confess with your mouth the Lord Jesus and believe in your heart that God has raised Him from the dead, you will be saved.” (Romans 10:9-10)The gospel is about the message of the cross, which centres on Jesus’ death, burial and resurrection, and what it means to us today. There is so much more to share, but I do not wish to overwhelm you with the teachings I have received in my own church. By no means am I saying I am attending a perfect church – no church is perfect, but I believe in attending a church that is Christ-centred, Christ-exalting instead of man-centred, and I believe there are such churches around the world. For now, just know that now that you are in Christ, you are a new creation. (2 Corinthians 5:17) You are the righteousness of God in Christ. (2 Corinthians 5:21) Believing that Jesus died for your sins is no small matter – it is a very important first step you have taken, for that’s how you have received the Holy Spirit. (Ephesians 1:13) The Holy Spirit abides with you and dwells in you forever. (John 14:16-17)You may like to visit my church website to read about the gospel of grace of Christ. Again, it may not answer every question you have about Christianity. The Lord encourages us to test all things and hold fast what is good. (1 Thessalonians 5:21) Listen to the Holy Spirit of truth who dwells inside you – does what you read and hear bears witness with the truth?newcreation.org.sg/aboutus/we_believe/ourlordjesus.htmYou are welcome to read the daily devotionals, and listen to the audio and video messages preached by my senior pastor. :)May the Lord guide you in understanding more about your faith in Jesus Christ. We are all at different stages of Christian growth, and it is alright to ask questions like this – we thank God for the Bible, the Holy Spirit and the body of Christ to encourage and build up one another in the Word, so thank God we don’t have to figure the Christian life out on our own. God bless you richly, sister.

Hon, there is nothing wrong with uncertainty or having questions. Some people are firm in their beliefs, while others are still working things out, or are starting to do so.For quite a long time, I felt that my salvation wasn’t ‘real’ or valid because I believed, accepted Jesus, and was saved. I continued throughout my childhood (I accepted Christ at 11) content with my decision. Through the years, my faith became greater and grew stronger. But I still didn’t think my salvation was exactly ‘right’, because I did not find Christ through some overwhelming or devastating life experience. No drugs, abuse, or alcohol. My home life was pretty okay, I was an excellent student, had friends, etc.It wasn’t until I was in my mid to late 40’s or so that I realized I had been very fortunate that I did not have to go through what many others did to eventually accept the gospel that leads to salvation, and to placing their faith in Christ. I had been blessed to hear the truth and simply believe. But that’s my experience.Its okay that you don’t feel what others do. Your relationship with God is personal, and will ebb and flow periodically. Perhaps you feel (or don’t feel) the way you do because you are either TRYING to feel as others do and/or are bothered because you don’t.Don’t worry about that at the moment. It is far more important to maintain a relationship with God. Take your concerns to him, tell him everything, and ask him to help. He will. Just hang in there.If you are unsure of your love for him at this time, that’s okay. Try to consider and focus on his love for you. Consider Jesus’ love and obedience to die on the cross, not for the world, but for you. If you were the only person on the planet who needed salvation, he would have given his life up just the same, and just for you.Consider the love that has no strings attached. It isn’t what we do, but who we are, that makes us the recipients of God’s love. We are his children, saved or not, and he loves us.But it is through salvation that we can have a relationship with him, because Christ bridged the chasm that existed because of sin.Take a long, serious look at what you know about God and Jesus, and then consider what you believe, what you are having trouble with, and why.It seems you just need to figure out where to go from this point. From a knowledge of God and Jesus to a relationship with God through Christ.It also seems as if a few ideas you have, like mine about salvation, might be a bit off the mark.I don’t know that the Bible was ever intended to make us feel love for God, but rather that it provides the framework and establishes the foundation for a relationship based on love.Neither do I think that the purpose of church is to inspire or make us feel love for God.Much like love between people, love for God has to grow. Our love for people usually begins with something that touches our heart, sensibilities, and/or emotions. (For example, love can blossom because a person is kind, sweet, thoughtful, funny, etc.)Sure, there are those who experience love at first sight, that hits them like a lightning bolt, while others’ love develops gradually as the couple’s relationship and familiarity (trust, confidence, etc.) with each other increases. Here again, you may have overlooked some of the ways God has demonstrated his love for you. His love for us is the foundation for the love that we feel for him. Are you familiar with the parable of the mustard seed? If we have even that much faith, near-infinitesimal, we can move mountains. If that is all the love you can muster for God right now, he can work with that.You have received some excellent responses:Linda J — Find a church where they talk about God as if He was actually interested in you. Trust me, those kind of churches exist, and they are not found in only one denomination.Jeanmarie’s comments about worshipping on the Sabbath.Galaxie Girl’ — Maybe you should find a new church, one that fits you better.Jimmy J — I would recommend that you find a grace-based Bible-believing church that preaches the gospel of grace. The kind of fellowship is secondary, as important as fellowship is, because ultimately what will make the deepest impact in your life is whether the teachings preached in the church unveil Christ – His Person, His beauty and glory, and the perfection of His finished work at the cross. I, too, would suggest that you consider a church that teaches of God’s grace, and teaches that our relationship with God is less about what we do and more about who he is, what he can do, and has done.Also, I don’t know what type of music you listen to, or what spiritual material you read besides your Bible, and I don’t know what Bible you read. But I know that at certain points in my life when I feel separated from God, music helps. And certain verses, especially the promises, help.I grew up Baptist, but determined some years ago to not affiliate myself with any particular denomination, because I don’t like the predominance differences that separated the body of Christ instead of there being more to unite us. So I now consider myself non-denominational. I also don’t believe that a thing in the Bible was misinterpreted. That thought doesn’t line up with the character of God, who does things decently and in order. The thing with the Bible is that the rules everyone should observe most Christians treat them like suggestions, and the things that are up to the individual, people treat them like they are mandatory. I believe that it is far more important to God THAT we go to church, than when. This is based on the simple observation that he works in the lives of those who attend on Saturday and those who attend on Sunday, and that those who attend on Sundays have not experienced any particular condemnation or correction from God for doing so.On the subject of the Mark of the Beast, that won’t happen until the end of days, after the Antichrist has been revealed. The only way a person can be lost forever before that time, is to blaspheme the Holy Spirit.Our relationship with God should be based on love and faith, not fear. Reverence, definitely, but never fear. How can you love someone you are afraid of? Tell God of your fears, too, and ask him to show you the truth, and to calm your fears, To help you be peaceful in his care.As far as you reaching out to those of whom others disapprove: Unless I’m mistaken, Jesus did that very thing. Wasn’t he raked over the coals for hanging out with sinners? We are called to love others as ourselves. My suggestions:Read your Bible. Learn God’s word for yourself, then you will be able to make decisions based on God’s instructions according to his will. Read it prayerfully, asking God to speak to you, and reveal what he wants you to know for your life. Ask him for guidance at this time, and for direction.Ask him to lead you to the church he wants you to be in.Find and listen to music that speaks to you, and touches your heart. That ushers you into the presence of God. Allow God to minister to you this way. Actively seek the ways God is showing his love for you. Consider keeping a journal. Include verses, songs, and lyrics that speak to you and of his love. Note your prayers, and God’s answers.Since you are home on Sundays, consider watching some spiritual programming, either on TV or online. TBN has a great lineup. Listen to some of the messages, see if one of the churches seems like a place you could call home, or at least gives you an idea of what the right church home for you would be like.I have verses to include, but I don’t want you to close out this question before I get a chance to submit this. So I will add the verses in a few minutes.If you have any other questions, and feel I can be of some assistance, please do not hesitate to email me.Hope I helped.God bless you.† ?

I would just like to encourage you to keep growing! Your being to lay the foundation you know God and Jesus are real, there love for you is real. understanding will come with growth. AS ONE OF GODS CHILDREN WE ARE CALLED TO LOVE ALL PEOPLE. this is a charge that Jesus gave to us and yet most christians struggle with this one. Love is a fruit of the spirit. I wold also like to point out that feelings / emotions are usually the things that get in the way of our relationships. because feelings and emotions are wishy washy and irrationial and leads plenty of people a stray. The enemmy loves to play on our feelings and emmotions. I would also like to say that worship is not just for whatever day you attend service but its everyday continuesly. like talking to your best friend – you wouldnt just chat for two hours once a week but all the time. I would also recomend that your bible is at least King James version. Keep on pressing through dont put your trust in man because people will dissappont but God is always faithful!! God Bless you and let the Holly Sporot Guide your steps!!