Good Thing Going – David Campbell

David Campbell sings ‘Good Thing Going’ by Stephen Sondheim, from the musical Merrily We Roll Along, accompanied by Guy Simpson on piano. Taken from the DVD ‘The Broadway Show: Live in Australia’.

See and download Good Thing Going (Sondheim) music score

Good Thing Going- Merrily We Roll Along (with Lyrics)

Original Broadway Cast recording of Good Thing Going from Sondheim’s Merrily We Roll Along. No copyright infringement intended- just spreading the love of a really wonderful song. (I know the ending is funny, but I had to pull it out from the middle of the full song)

What is a good auditioning song for my range? I have two questions for a school musical audition.1. My range is from G2 to F4, which is about 2 octaves (Middle C is C3). What is this considered to be?2. Would the song, Comedy Tonight from “A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Forum” be a good song for both my range and auditioning?If you have any questions, please send me a message with Yahoo! Answers. Thanks!

See and download Good Thing Going (Sondheim) music score

I think that’s a good choice. What musical are you auditioning for? generally, you should make sure your audition song is similar to the style of the musical. for instance, if you were auditioning for something classic like Carousel, Comedy Tonight might not be the best choice since it’s more contemporary. and just a caution – Sondheim is great for showing you have a developed ear, but if you’re not having a CD accompaniment, but rather an actual pianist, the music may be too challenging for them to play. just something to consider. if you have any questions you can message me. break a leg!

Just try these songsyoutube.com/watch?v=LVb4XseDXdU1. Creepy Guy2. My Passive Aggressive Friends3. Single Girl’s Love Song4. Learning Annex5. So Not Cute6. Stealth Hot7. Sometimes I Doinspirational-otter.com/stupid-songs.htmlblog.inspirational-otter.com/

Is Sondheim’s musical “Assassins” recorded on video in any way? I’ve just fallen in love with the 2004 revival soundtrack, and really want to see some version of it. Does anyone know of it being taped for a special (most of Sondheim’s work is available on dvd) or if there are plans to do so?
As far as I know, there is no official DVD version of this show. It is unfortunate. I saw the 2004 Broadway revival, it was probably the most outstanding theatrical experience of my life (so far).

Swigaro is right. Perhaps you can find someone with a copy of their own cast production of the show? Youtube has several clips. It’s not nearly as good as the real thing, ut you can piece them together and see virtually the whole show :-)youtube.com/results?search_query=assassins+sondheimHey, it’ll do in a pinch!Marianne

What’s the name of the song playing during the opening credits of Sweeney Todd? I don’t mean the first song, the “No Place Like London” one. I mean the one that plays during the gritty animated thing, with the blood, at the start. Thanks =)
According to the soundtrack, it is simply called the “Opening Title”. However, it is an instrumental version of the “Ballad of Sweeney Todd” from the Sondheim musical.
The song is titled “The Ballad of Sweeney Todd” (Instrumental) by Stephen Sondheim.
What are some good quotes about people leaving and it being for the best? I’m looking for some quotes about people leaving or things changing and it being sad, but it still being for the best? I’m having a lot of trouble finding them online, but knew other people must have some!Thank you in advance! =)
1.) You know it’s always sad when it comes time for a friend to leave but guess what? you know tomorrow you’ll both start out on a brand new adventure that some day you’ll get to tell each other about. Here’s a few more bit less sentimental ones, depends what you’re looking for.2.) You know as one door closes another door always opens.3.) you know it’s always darkest right before the dawn.4.) people always seem to make me happy; some as they arrive and others as they leave.

“Sometimes people leave you halfway through the woods. Do not let it grieve you, no one leaves for good” – Stephen Sondheim“Everyone goes through a stage where they want to leave home, . Let the young people leave the community, but then hit them with incentives to return when they’re ready to settle down.” – Rebecca Ryan“People come into your life and people leave it. you just have to trust that life has a road mapped out for you.” – Orlando Bloom“Most people leave because of money, not job satisfaction. With more money, we can be competitive, keeping people longer.” – Chris Davis“You’ve got to anticipate people leaving because it is very shortsighted if you only think about new people coming in.” – Judith Wegner“When people leave their controlled burns, they should be sticking their hands in there to make sure its cold.” – Dave Abercrombie

What are some good songs for my Urinetown audition? The parts I’m auditioning for are Hope and Little Sally, but I totally wouldn’t object to Miss Pennywise. For Hope, I’m thinking of singing “I’m Lovely” from A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Forum. What are some other good audition songs for each part?
I love Sondheim, but Lovely from Forum doesn’t go as high as hope, she goes to a G here are some that go that high for Hope, and other ones for Little Sally and Miss Pennywise, since there all completely different ranges:Hope:Come to My Garden- The Secret GardenGreen Finch and Linnet Bird- Sweeney ToddHow Could I Ever Know- The Secret GardenHow Lovely to Be a Woman- Bye Bye BirdieI Feel Pretty- West Side StoryIf I Loved You- CarouselOut of My Dreams- OklahomaTill There Was You- The Music ManLittle Sally:A Hundred Million Miracles- Flower Drum SongAdelaide’s Lament- Guys and DollsDon’t Rain on My Parade- Funny GirlI Enjoy Being a Girl- Flower Drum SongMoments in the Woods- Into the WoodsMiss Pennywise:A New Life-Jekyll & HydeI Got the Sun in the Morning-Annie Get Your GunSuddenly Seymour- Little Shop of HorrorsThere’s No Business Like Show Business-Annie Get Your GunAll these songs could work for any character, but they are best suited for the respective parts.

