Which songs are a good introduction to classic music? I’m looking for something that will provide me with emotion, both gentle and harsh, any age, any genre :)I apologise to you all, I did mean classical, and was looking for ‘entry level’ music, thank you all for your responses, sorry for not being specific and misspelling on my phone!

Digital sheet music source: Fugue (Blow)

First of all they are pieces, works or compositions. rarely are they songs in classical music. Classic is not necessarily classicAL. Sinatra is classic. but not classical in any way.So your request is very vague – almost anything could qualify. care to be a little more specific?

I hope you mean classical and not classic, as that’s all I got. I don’t know what you like, so I will try to be versatile.Baroque. Hmm. Start’cha out with some J.S.Bach.youtube.com/watch?v=hZ9qWpa2rIg -Brandenburg Concerto 3Highly bouncy and so beautifully contrapuntal. You might try the rest of the Brandenburg Concertos, if this tickles your pickle.Classical. Jeez, I’m not very well-versed in the Classical era, either. Might as well give you some Mozart.youtube.com/watch?v=NDKdrQgp_q0 -Adagio and Fugue K.546Mozart and Bach. Huh. I’m not very original today.Okay, now that I have the obligatory Baroque and Classical eras out of the way, I can give you what I love.Back in the day (actually, more like six months ago), I was a big Romantic nut. Have some Bruckner.youtube.com/watch?v=kIbWcXXzkqI -Symphony 9 mov 2And how could I forget Brahms?youtube.com/watch?v=jvcg3fXV3rs -Symphony 3 mov 1Also, here is some Liszt.youtube.com/watch?v=Pq-y9KGqssc -Concert Etude 3, “Un Sospiro”All right. You have your angry, you have your sonorous, and you have your pretty, respectively. If you enjoy the Bruckner, check out the rest of his symphonies. He had nine of them, though the ninth wasn’t completed. If you enjoy Brahms, look at some Mahler (Symphonies 5 & 8) and Sibelius (Symphonies 2 & 5). And I know you will like the Liszt, as most people do. I am going to tentatively recommend Chopin, and I say tentatively because this is where most people get sucked in and don’t leave. Please don’t join the teenage girl Chopin cult. It is okay to love him, but it is annoying when that is all the classical music someone listens to. I am warning you.We venture into contemporary. Here, I have found my home.Here is some older transitional Romantic-Contemporary. Prokofiev. I can blab about him all day and night. I want you to love the Russians. LOVE THE RUSSIANS. Not everyone loves the Russians.Also, I have already used up five of my allowed ten links, so here is one puny Prokofiev link.youtube.com/watch?v=-kD0xsejesw -Piano Concerto 2Stick with this. It picks up. It is gorgeous. It is chaotic. It is so tortured and disturbed and OMGZ I love this piece. Look at his other Piano Concertos. And then his Symphonies (especially number 5). And then everything else. Also, Prokofiev reminds me of Shostakovich. Check out that guy’s string quartets. Especially the second movement of number 8. There are a lot. I listened to all 15 of them. In a row. I killed 4 days like this. If you don’t like the “harshness” of these two, though, might I recommend Debussy? He is also teetering on the cusp of Romantic and Contemporary, but he is a little dreamier and also more. pretty. Try his Cello Sonata and his Preludes for piano. Also, check out Samuel Barber. His Adagio for Strings is very popular, but also give his first Symphony a go, as well as his four hands Souvenirs Ballet Suite.Contemporary!! WOO. My most recent discovery. What I love about this era is that it is happening now, and that there is so much versatility. Literally anything goes. New styles of composing are being invented all the time.youtube.com/watch?v=B6vo4xTpHdA -Adams, Grand Pianolayoutube.com/watch?v=cB46mn8Exd8 -Nico Muhly, Mothertongueyoutube.com/watch?v=FcFyl8amoEE -Steve Reich, Clapping Musicyoutube.com/watch?v=xIPvxSMTeKc&feature=BFa&list=PL5C02B78B3DFFBBE2&index=3 -Arvo Part, Berliner MesseAdams is AHHH. Chamber Symphony. City Noir. Fearfull Symmetries. Lollapalooza. Tromba Lontana. Shaker Loops. He is my favorite. Fall in loooove!Nico Muhly. A new favorite. He is weird, but try to understand him, and he will blow your mind. Please listen to the link all the way through – you won’t get it the first time, but if you really truly listen to it, it will be such an amazing experience. Skip Town. Clear Music. Honest Music. Fast Twitchy Organs (love this).Steve Reich’s a weirdo, but I like him. I gave you the clapping link because I thought it was cool, but he has other good music as well. Daniel Variations. Variations for Vibes, Piano, and Strings.You Are Variations. Cello Counterpoint. And, lastly, a man I found yesterday – Arvo Part. He is religious and quiet and gentle and resonant. I have fallen in love with him. He brings to light just how deep simplicity can be. Complexity does not necessarily equal beauty. Spiegel Im Spiegel. Berliner Messe. De profundis. Da Pacem Domine. Tabula Rasa.I sincerely hope you find what you love.

So you want pieces that will appeal to a beginning listener. Here are some recommendations:Beethoven’s Symphony No. 5 in Cm, Op. 67 (there are very good reasons that it’s popular)Mozart’s Symphony No. 40 in Gm, K. 550 (in my opinion, the greatest piece of music ever composed)Chopin’s Nocturne in E-Flat, Op. 9, No. 2Chopin’s Waltz No. 6 in D-flat, Op. 64, No. 1 (the “Minute” waltz; it’s exquisite)Chopin’s Waltz No. 7 in C#m, Op. 64, No. 2There are multitudes of recordings of each of these pieces. Your local public library will probably have at least one recording of all of them. Happy listening!

Bach:youtube.com/watch?v=LU_QR_FTt3EPurcell This, I believe, is a woman singing right before she commits suicide:youtube.com/watch?v=PSlRCEidnaQMozart, my favorite:)youtube.com/watch?v=C2ODfuMMyssyoutube.com/watch?v=CQUFQ_N0JI8Beethoven’s Violin Concerto:youtube.com/watch?v=D3zsetUus98&feature=relatedSchumann (the jellyfish are hilarious in this one):youtube.com/watch?v=fHq4FKsLFsQChopin :youtube.com/watch?v=L6S0VIy4SdYBizet’s Carmen: youtube.com/watch?v=peh-fSo3FvMFaure: youtube.com/watch?v=KweXColOsgQAaron Copland Appalachian Spring and his Clarinet Concerto, tooProkofiev Peter and the Wolf: A nice story set to music with many emotions throughout. A nice movie has recently been made of it.I think all of these works are very enjoyable. I hope you enjoy classical music.

There are literally thousands of Classical compositions. As you discover one composer,you will want to hear more of his music which will probably lead you to other compositions and composers. Here are some major orchestral works that beginners tend to enjoy as their first foray into classical music:Berlioz.Symphony FantastiqueRimsky-Korsakov.ScheherazadeBeethoven.Symphony #5 in c minorMozart.Symphony #40 in g minorHandel.The Water Music.The Royal Fireworks MusicBach.Brandenburg Concerto #2Johann Strauss.Die Fledermaus OvertureTchaikovsky.The Nutcracker Suite.1812 OvertureBrahms.Symphony #1 in c minorDvorak.Symphony #9 (From the New World)Gershwin.Rhapsody in BlueElgar.Pomp and Circumstance March #1Wagner.Ride of the ValkyriesSchubert.Symphony #8 (Unfinished)Gounod.Funeral March of a MarionetteBizet.Carmen Suite

