Rani Singam Quartet – Dedicated To You (Cahn,Chaplin & Zaret)

Rani Singam (vocals), Tan Weixiang (piano), Christy Smith (bass) & Soh Wenming (drums) Arrangement by Tan Weixiang Taken from the concert “Happily Ever After”, ExxonMobil Campus Concerts Wednesday 29 August 2012 University Cultural Centre Theatre, National University of Singapore, Singapore…

Sheet music for Zaret – Dedicated To You is available for downloading in digital format.

The Righteous Brothers – Unchained Melody (A. North, H. Zaret) ~ Erwin Lazaro 020

“Unchained Melody” is the only song that my dad has requested for me to sing, since my mom passed into our Lord God’s Kingdom in Heaven, on August 9, 1999. It’s the perfect reflection for the state of my dad’s heart. So, of course, since I began this YouTube journey, dad has continually asked me when I was going to sing “Unchained Melody” for him. I all ready knew, from the beginning of this singing adventure, that “Unchained Melody” was going to be dedicated for one of two occasions: my parents’ 43rd Wedding Anniversary, or for the 11th year Memorial of my mom’s passing into our Lord God’s Kingdom in Heaven. Unfortunately, very early in this journey, when my dad had made his request, I had to pretend that I didn’t know when I’d get a chance to work on it. Even though, I had all ready tried several times. My dad is persistent. After several weeks, I had to finally confess that I had been working on his song, but with little success. At first, he couldn’t understand why I was having a hard time. I explained that I just couldn’t hit those high notes anymore. Yes, the high notes are troublesome, but that was not the root of my disappointment with my efforts. This was another emotional ride for me. The first two times I tried to sing “Unchained Melody”, knowing that this was a tribute for my mom and dad, I couldn’t get through the song without crying. It was just too difficult. I took a break from my efforts and when I finally came back to it, I was determined to do this well

