The Day Of The Locusts (Dylan cover)

Copyright music and lyrics reproduced by kind permission of Special Rider- For original, exclusive performances byBob Dylan, check out theofficial channel at youtube.com/bobdylan

Check out digitalized sheet music for Day Of The Locusts by Dylan

Day of the Locusts – by Bob Dylan (cover by Paul)

Copyright music and lyrics reproduced by kind permission of Special Rider. For original, exclusive performances by Bob Dylan, check-out the official channel at youtube.com/bobdylan In the song, Bob mentions how he found comfort in the call of the locusts. “A high, whining trill” which became the announcement of deliverance from things that would be devastating to a genius poet such as a high school graduation ceremony, a trial, menial work on a day so hot it could kill a young man, and finally finding solace in The Black Hills of Dakota, a special place of great medicine to the Native Americans. lyrics: Oh, the benches were stained with tears and perspiration The birdies were flying from tree to tree There was little to say, there was no conversation As I stepped to the stage to pick up my degree And the locusts sang off in the distance Yeah, the locusts sang such a sweet melody Oh, the locusts sang off in the distance Yeah, the locusts sang and they were singing for me I glanced into the chamber where the judges were talking Darkness was everywhere, it smelled like a tomb I was ready to leave, I was already walkin’ But the next time I looked there was light in the room And the locusts sang, yeah, it give me a chill Oh, the locusts sang such a sweet melody Oh, the locusts sang their high whining trill Yeah, the locusts sang and they were singing for me Outside of the gates the trucks were unloadin’ The weather was hot, a-nearly 90 degrees The man standin’ next to me