The Clash – Career Opportunities

Career Opportunities Lyrics: (Strummer/Jones) The offered me the office, offered me the shop// They said I’d better take anything they’d got// Do you wanna make tea at the BBC?// Do you wanna be, do you really wanna be a cop?// Career opportunities are the ones that never knock// Every job they offer you is to keep you out the dock// Career opportunity, the ones that never knock// I hate the army an’ I hate the RAF// I don’t wanna go fighting in the tropical heat// I hate the civil service rules// And I won’t open letter bombs for you// Bus driver….ambulance man….ticket inspector// They’re gonna have to introduce conscription// They’re gonna have to take away my prescription// If they wanna get me making toys// If they wanna get me, well, I got no choice// Careers// Careers// Careers// Ain’t never gonna knock//

Check out digitalized sheet music for Strummer: Career Opportunities

Timothy Cameron (TC Folkpunk)- Career Opportunities

Recorded live at Renaissance Cafe, Toronto, April 2006. Check out folkpunk.com !

