Laura Nyro, “Captain Saint Lucifer”

Tenth song on New York Tendaberry, with just an AMAZING chorus. Lyrically, it seems to be about a young woman leaving home to be with her lover, with snatches of lyrics that seem to make little sense (that bridge?). The piano work is awe-inspiring. Mama, Mama, you’re a whiz and a scholar too – Mama, open up the room lock; Sip sip, I’m going to the moon dock.. He gives to me buckles off shingles off a cockleshell, on Norway basin… Coke and tuna, boots, and roses from Russia; Now I’ll live and die and rise with my captain; Mama, told my Mama, say go Meet me, Captain Saint Lucifer; Darlin’, I’ll be there, don’t you know? Whoa, whoa… Meet me, Captain Saint Lucifer; Darlin’, I’ll be there, and don’t you know? Now, don’t you know I love you? Meet me, Captain Saint Lucifer… La la la la la la la la, oo, I love you… love you I do! Mama, Mama, you’re a whiz and a scholar too – Mama, I’m at anchor in your glow now, Sip sip – Even as I go now… He gives to me buckles off shingles, and a jangle from a Congo love chase; Early bloomers made of earth and love lace… Now I’ll live and die and rise with my captain; Mama, told my mama “Be happy…” Meet me, Captain Saint Lucifer; Darlin’, I’ll be there, don’t you know? Whoa, whoa… Meet me, Captain Saint Lucifer; Darlin’, I’ll be there, and if you know… Gutters in stacks is where I come from, buckles off a poverty drum; Oh, my love, trumpet soul, Tell Gabriel to tell the captain, “Thank you, baby – You’re my baby, now…”

Download sheet music pdf: Captain Saint Lucifer – Laura Nyro

LAURA NYRO captain st lucifer

from the 1969 album LAURA NYRO-NEW YORK TENDABERRY – created at animoto.com

