Joseph Shore-Cantique de Noel.

for Christmas

Check out digitalized sheet music for Davis: Cantique de Noel (O Holy Night)

Mike Davis – “Cantique de Noel”

Mike Davis performs “Cantique de Noel” by Adolphe Charles Adam at our Student Showcase Concert on January 29th, 2012, at the Augusta Curtis Cultural Center in Meriden, CT. For more information on our concerts, lessons, events, or anything else we do, visit jc-music.com

Musicians, Your most despised Winter Seasonal Song or Carol? My list of most-despised. (Please, we know these are much beloved: this Q invites Opinion based on personal taste; posts like “But I LOVE “_______” are not to the point here.) Oh, and Happy Holidays, anyway!1) “The Little Drummer Boy,” (“Carol of the Drum”): Katherine K. Davis, 1941 – So bad it is Egregious….2) O, Holy Night: (“Cantique de Noël) Adolphe Adam, 1847 – used to hold my No. 1 spot until the appearance of “Little Drummer Boy.” – Saccharine and Maudline Piousity.3) Jingle Bells: James Lord Pierpont (1822–1893) 4) White Christmas: Irving Berlin, 19425) Chestnuts Roasting on an Open Fire: Mel Torme and Wells, 1946.

Check out digitalized sheet music for Davis: Cantique de Noel (O Holy Night)

“Good King Wenceslas” definitely gets on my nerves, but more than any carol, I can’t stand the sleigh bells! For a good two months of the year, if you walk by a department store, you hear sleigh bells; if you turn on the radio, you hear sleigh bells; instead of those irritating whistling jingles in commercials – sleigh bells, sleigh bells, sleigh bells. enough! Will they give those bells a rest?I just can’t get rid of the impression that our entire society has turned into Pavlov’s dogs, salivating for presents and goodies at the slightest shake!

I must admit to not liking Silent Night, especially sung with full choir and organ. Not so bad with the original guitar accompaniment. It was written for that as Herr Gruber’s church organ had broken. I don’t count any on your list as ‘carols’, they all all America nschmaltz (with the exception of the Adam)

“All I Want for Christmas is My Two Front Teeth” was number one on my list, until I heard the unbelievable “I Want a Hi-po-pa-tamus for Christmas”.

I admit here and now that I am not fond of any of them. Perhaps this is because I am a humbug type of person or more likely it is because I am not fond of the people performing the songs. When I am shopping and the store begins playing a Johnny Mathis Christmas Album over their sound system I have to leave the store. Instead of naming all the ones I do not like, it would be easier to name one I do like and that one is Sleigh Ride by Leroy Anderson performed by the Boston Pops Orchestra.

There are many . most run along the lines of the cutesy seasonal stuff that doesn’t belong in the “Classical” categoryYou know: “Grandma got Run over by A Reindeer” — Elmo and Patsy Shropshire in 1979″Up on the Rooftop” — Benjamin R. Hanby, 1800s”Are my Ears on Straight?” — Mel Leven, 1953″(The) Chipmunk Song (Christmas, Don’t be Late)” — Ross Bagdasarian, 1958. any and all “Santa Claus” songsAmong the standard Hymns and Carols I’d place”It Came upon the Midnight Clear” — Sears/Willis 1850″The Holy and the Ivy”===Edit: To get your number 2 to reclaim its top billing spotyoutube.com/watch?v=Mk4woNRD7NQ

I worked in a professional theatre for 10 years. That being said, for a LONG time I hated any and all Christmas music. Why? I got to hear the rehearsals for the Christmas show from August to November. I heard the Christmas show being performed from November to February. I also got to hear the pre-show, intermission, and post-show Christmas music during the run of the show. It also never failed that someone would always have one of their “favorite” Christmas CDs blaring over the loud speakers while we were setting up and tearing down the show every day. Multiply that by nine shows a week and you get insanity. That is roughly 10 years of hearing Christmas music for seven months out of the year.That being said, here are a few of my “loathings” when it comes to holiday music:Angels We Have Heard on High–something about a bunch of high pitched children singing this song drives me to insanity.Grandma Got Run Over by a Reindeer–really? Nothing says “happy holidays” like some carribou driven homicide.I Saw Mommy Kissing Santa Claus–yes, because if your child believes that Santa Claus is real, we should definitely pimp adultery during the Christmas season.Little Drummer Boy–this song just makes me want to drum my head into the wall over and over until I pass out!

Until the cute scene in Home Alone, I hate hate hated “Rockin around the Christmas Tree” If I am not watching that movie, I still hate it. It reminds me of a smoke filled hall I walked into as a child and when my parents saw and smelled the smoke they wisked us kids out in a hurry to go do some other activity. It wreaks of icky weird drunk people to me.

Dreidel, Dreidel, Dreidel (I think this is Traditional). The token Chanukah song. There are other Chanukah songs, including some very beautiful ones, but this is the one they throw in if they are trying to insist that the Christmas program is really a “Winter Holiday” program. R-i-i-i-i-ght! I think they ought to rename that song “Dreck-full, Dreck-full, Dreck-full” for its stupid horribleness.