Cat Stevens – Blackness of the Night

Album: New Masters (1967)

You can download the sheet music from the video: Blackness Of The Night (Cat Stevens)

Blackness Of The Night – Cat Stevens cover

User “PeaceTrainFan” has uploaded a wonderful audio version of Yusuf singing this early piece in an BBC concert. Thanks to him for this inspiration.

I need help with a song analysis.? I have choosen the song “Blackness Of The Night” by Cat Stevens and I think it deals with lonliness. Can this be slightly classfied as a humans right or social justice song? If so would I say it is slightly “humans right or social justice song” because it is a feeling that effects alot of us and some can be prevented. Such as the times in war etc. Also does anyone know or can provide sources for me about Cat Stevens opinion on the issue? Here the lyrics if you have not heard the song:In the blackness of the nightI seem to wander endlesslywith a hope burning out deep insideI’m a fugitive, community has driven me outFor this bad, bad world I’m beginning to doubtI’m alone and there is no one by my sideIn the blackness of the nightI see a shadow passing byfrom the heels of an old soldier boy.There’s no comprimisingand his eyes are black as the skyFor this bad, bad world he is going to die.He’s alone and there is no one by his sideIn the blackness of the nighI see a sparkle of a starfrom the sweet silver tear of a childand she’s clutching at a photograph of long, long agoWhen her parents were happy she was too young to knowshe’s alone and there is no one by her sideI’m alone and there is no one by my sideIn the blackness of the nightI seem to wander endlesslywith a hope burning out deep insideI’m a fugitive, community has driven me outFor this bad, bad world I’m beginning to doubtI’m alone, and there is no one by my side

