Looking for VERY dark music suggestions? Before I begin, I know that a very similar question has been asked on this site before, and I investigated all the suggestions, but most weren’t quite what I was looking for.Basically, I’m after some new music (new to me that is). However, I’m after very dark music, but a particular kind. I guess my taste is a bit unusual in this regard, but nevertheless, I’m yearning for music that’s almost completely devoid of happiness, or major scales. Encountering a new song which fits these requirements would make me very happy however. To be clear about what exactly I’m looking for, I suggest listening through the lengthy list of examples I give below.Most classical compositions are in major keys, and the few that aren’t are usually not what I’m looking for anyway. Movie soundtracks usually aren’t dark enough. Doom metal usually isn’t dark enough, although I’ve been liking Dolorian’s first two albums. Black metal seems bland, particularly due to the double-bass drumming (I love double-bass drums, but they don’t help to build a desolate atmosphere). I’ve been looking into the neoclassical band Elend, and I love their first album, but I don’t really like their second and third. The fourth looks good however.The piano particularly appeals to me, especially the very low notes. The atmosphere is of utmost importance. Choirs and such vocals are normally hit or miss with me, but usually miss. Heaviness/softness of a song doesn’t bother me, so long as it is fitting. The more dissonance, the better, as well. Screams have to fit the song very well, which they usually don’t.~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~Examples of (mostly) dark music that I like:Rachmaninov’s Prelude in C#m perfectly illustrates what I’m looking for in a piano piece. The middle section, where the tempo picks up, and the drama after it, is just perfect in my opinion.Dolorian’s ‘When All the Laughter Has Gone’ is wonderfully bleak, especially the low, descending piano notes before the vocal parts. Elend’s ‘Eclipse’ is one of my favourite songs from Elend, and is dark in a fairly subtle way (in particular the first verse).Elend’s ‘The Emperor’ also rings true with me.System of a Down’s ‘Spiders’.Dream Theater’s ‘Finally Free’ is one of my favourite Dream Theater songs, and with good reason. 3:58 onwards is extraordinarily powerful and dark. The same goes for the outro/drum solo. All the piano parts are wonderful as well.Bach’s Brandenburg Concerto No.5 in D I. Allegro, is depressingly happy and merry almost the entire way (although I can enjoy it on some days), but during the extended piano/harpsichord part, when it switches into a minor key, makes my day. The next 40 seconds or so make the entire piece worth listening to.Metallica’s ‘For Whom the Bell Tolls’, in particular the drawn-out intro and outro.Opeth’s ‘Silhouette’ from 1:00 to 2:06.Many tracks from the computer game Diablo 2’s soundtrack really appeal to me, but none more so than ‘Tristram’, which is very mysterious.The last four minutes or so of the finale of Tchaikovsky’s Pathetique is perfect, but the rest of it is too happy.’Lux Aeterna’, from the Requiem For a Dream soundtrack, is suitably downcast. The first 30 seconds or so of Rachmaninov’s Piano Concerto No. 1 in F#m II. Andante are great, but the rest soon loses its appeal to me.Dream Theater’s ‘Misunderstood’, particularly the guitar solos and the outro.Liquid Tension Experiment’s ‘When the Water Breaks’ from 8:16 to 9:32, especially the two guitar riffs from 9:14 to 9:32.Dream Theater’s ‘In the Presence of Enemies Part 2’ from 2:34 to 3:20.Dream Theater’s ‘Octavarium’ from 16:35 to 17:00.Dream Theater’s ‘The Mirror’ from 5:30 until the end. The first two verses of Dream Theater’s ‘Scarred’.Beethoven’s Moonlight Sonata would be perfect if not for the dozen or so times that it enters a major key when it shouldn’t.Some parts of ‘The Battle’ from the Gladiator soundtrack can make the spine tingle like few other things can.Most of the Lord of the Rings soundtrack (not very dark however, but at least it stays away from major keys).Other soundtracks that I like include those of Spy Game and the Bourne movies, not that either of them are very dark.Suggestions would be GREATLY appreciated. I know I’m being very particular with what I’m looking for, but I can’t help it. Anyone that actually reads all of the above have my thanks.

Downloadable sheet music: Allegro in C Minor – Tchaikovsky

Why do you want such depressing music? I like the happy stuff personally.”You can’t always get what you want” -Ben harper “music.play enough of it, and it keeps the demons out.”- Across the Universe.
Black Sabbath , Bloody Sabbath
find a copy of all the Ghosts album’s (there’s four) by Nine Inch Nails, i don’t remember which one is the darkestummm if i recall ayreon is really similar to dream theateryou can find liquid tension experiment, pain of salvation, and Jordan Rudess, who was the synth player for dream theater

Try some Type O Negative. That’s some pretty dark and brooding stuff, especially “Bloody Kisses.”There’s also a Belgian band from the ’70s called Univers Zero. They play what they call “chamber rock” — drums and bass mixed in with unconventional instruments like harmoniums and oboes. It is VERY sinister-sounding. Look for their album “Heresie.” The track on side 1, “La Faulx,” is seriously some of the darkest, most oppressive, most evil-sounding music I’ve ever come across. And not in a bombastic, shredding-guitars, over-the-top kind of way. It’s all very understated and atmospheric, but it will terrify you once you let the mood wash over you.More recent stuff in the same vein . try “Delirium Cordia” by Fantomas, led by Mike Patton, formerly of Faith No More. It’s a CD-long track that’s ostensibly about surgery without anesthesia . but again, this one is mostly about the atmospheric moods the music creates. It’ll make your hair stand on end.Enjoy. 🙂

