Why did Billy Bragg lie? The opening lyrics in Billy Braggs song ‘New England’ go.I was twenty one years when I wrote this songIm twenty two now, but I wont be for long.Was he 21 or 22 when he wrote the lyrics? One way or the other Billy Bragg is a LIAR!

You can download the sheet music from the video: Billy Bragg – A New England

He was 21 when he wrote it, 22 when he sang it, and will soon be 23.There’s no lie in there.You have poor comprehension my friend.

No he wasnt.think about it. He wrote it “when he was 21”. He’s now singing it and “he’s 22” and he turns 23 soon. There, not very difficult to understand is it?Oh, you were trying to be funny weren’t you? Good song though.

Um. Well he says he was 21 when he wrote the song. So he wrote the song when he was 21. He aged in the song, and saying he wont stay 22 for long. It sounds like he is just commenting on how time goes by.

80’s Song Of The Day? youtube.com/watch?v=3qkSJCWMego&feature=relatedBilly Bragg — A New EnglandListen and comment
its good – sparse and angst-ridden, buti prefer kirsty maccolls versionuk.youtube.com/watch?v=_fwtFSEovro(rip)
Good song. What do you think ’bout mine?youtube.com/watch?v=qSfndZfKFNU
Yeah, I like that song. The bit about “space hardware” made me laugh the first time I heard it.and thanks Captain F, I hadn’t heard that version 🙂

So much great 80s music gets overshadowed. but I guess that really goes for any era. good song. thanks for sharing.and spidey and the hobby in matching double takes. always good.

